My number one advice for writing

Make yourself sit down and just do it…

Some find the thought of having to write something very daunting, painful like going to the dentist.

However, you’ll find if you make yourself sit down and just start, you’ll get involved with the process and may even enjoy putting your thoughts into words.

You may scoff at this notion but consider this… inspired writing doesn’t necessarily have to happen during traditional work hours. Some write best after the kids are in bed and some write best early morning. Try to write when you feel you are in the best frame of mind and you can give your writing your undivided attention.

Don’t worry about having it perfect immediately. Write/type all your thoughts and then rearrange and edit. When you think you’re getting to the final draft stage, read it out loud to see how it sounds.

I realize I’m biased, I enjoy writing as opposed to say… doing calculus… but know that it doesn’t have to be so painful, just sit down and do it and start with baby steps, the rest will follow.

Sarah Wallace is a research analyst, blogger and podcaster. To learn more about her, click on the tabs above.

Share

3 Responses

  1. Thanks I greatly appreciate the simplicity of this post.

    Coming from a person who likes both calculus and the craft of expressing one’s self in writing, I often get into the perfectionist mindset.

    Thanks for the KISS perspective on writing. ;-)

  2. Thanks Joselin!

    I think it’s wonderful that you enjoy both writing and calculus : )

  3. I realize this is an older post, but it’s new for me. ;-) I used to tell myself the same thing when I had to write papers in college. The painful part was always getting started. If I knew I didn’t have to make it all pretty immediately, it allowed me to relax and simply write. “That’s all you have to do,” I’d tell myself. Once I got started I was fine.

    The problem I’m having now is finding a moment when it’s quiet in my house and my children are not driving me insane! I plan on blogging about my problem soon.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

