A Stangant Website May Be a Good Thing…

What!!! Some may exclaim… How can a stagnant website be a good thing?!exclaimationmark

Well, let me put it this way… As a social media services writer I am approached by businesses that have dated websites with no interactive content. At first I’m aghast but after talking to them I realize they are really, really busy. Their business is growing and the just don’t have time. They are too busy with mission critical tasks to keep a blog or be on Twitter.

This is where I come in and help them, but the point is, a stagnant website may mean a company has a great reputation and is growing exponentially and just needs some help in the online department.  Just something to think about…

Sarah Wallace is a research analyst, blogger and podcaster. To learn more about her, click on the tabs above.

Share

2 Responses

  1. Here’s what I’m wondering. I’ve always thought of my website as an online brochure–and it’s worked for me. Most of my business is now via referrals. I get a lot of business through my face to face relationships with people in my various communities. I’m getting intrigued by the possibilities of blogs to generate and include many many thought leaders in conversation from all over the globe. Someone recently called blogs the new magazines, and THAT got my attention. I like it that people comment on one another’s posts and interview one another and in this way ideas grow and spread. In my world, we call this Deep Democracy and Worldwork. Here’s what I wonder: do I start a blog on a rather focused area of discourse that is separate from my website or do I make it part of my website? Any thoughts on that? Cheers, Alfred.

  2. Hi Alfred,

    I think you should definitely have it as part of your website or a link to the blog on your website. Why?

    Because if the blog does grow and generate comments from users all over the globe, you want to take credit for it. It is your business that is hosting the blog and while they are taking part, you might as well let them know who you are and why you are an expert in your services.

    Hope this helps,
    Sarah

Leave a Reply

