How to get rid of “Who To Follow” on Twitter – UPDATE!

Udpate No. 2: Despite my efforts to get rid of the “Who To Follow” feature on Twitter, I have succumbed to the notion that it will just be there. Some have argued that they like this feature and find it helpful to connect with new people. In a way I agree, in other ways, I find that it is people I have nothing in common with and do not like it cluttering my Twitter column. If anything, I’d at least like the option to hide it. Anyways, I find Twitter’s two newest features (see my post Some new Twitter features I can get on board with) more appealing.

Update
: After performing the steps below, my “Who To Follow” was gone from my Twitter account all day, even after logging back in several times. However, it showed up again today!

Another interesting fact, when I wanted to tweet my “How to get rid of Who To Follow” post for the second time yesterday,  Twitter kept saying “Technical Error.” I then tweeted the word “test” and it went through fine. I then tried to tweet my blog post again and it said “Technical Error.” It wasn’t until I changed the text of my tweet to say “How to get Who to Follow off of your sidebar” that it finally let the tweet go through. Perhaps just coincidental but interesting…

POST FROM AUGUST 6, 2010

In case you want to get rid of the “Who To Follow” on Twitter, I found that clicking on “View All” then hitting the “x” button or “hide” on all of them makes them go away, even after I logged back onto Twitter.

Peace and happy weekend!
SW

Sarah Wallace is a research analyst, blogger and podcaster. To learn more about her, click on the tabs above.

Share

6 Responses

  1. Thank you! Somehow landed on your blog and am thankful for it. I really loathed the Who to follow advertising. Kuddos!

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by sarah_wallace and Bertrand Leseigneur, Graphic Design. Graphic Design said: RT @blogvotw: Merci, Thanks, Gracias, Danke… RT @sarah_wallace How to get rid of "Who to Follow" on Twitter http://bit.ly/blRYHk […]

  3. Nadia: Glad to help!
    Bertrand: Thanks for sharing on Twitter : )

  4. Please read update

  5. Just saw you rupdate…..that’s really weird, Twitter try to stop people who wants to share tips to get rid of their stupid Who to Follow.

    Weird

  6. Interesting thoughts. I myself ain’t too fond of the “who to follow” nonsense either. Hopefully twitter will do something for us non believers.

Leave a Reply

